Wednesday was the first day of summer vacation. Let’s just say, the kids and I were off to a rocky start. That night, after some tears (mine), the hubby and I came up with a plan. Stopping short of a rigid schedule, we drafted a check list of tasks for the kids to do each day. Everything from “get dressed” to S.Q.U.I.R.T. (super quiet uninterrupted independent reading time — acronym borrowed from school).

Arts and crafts time was included in the afternoon. Soon after lunch on Thursday, The Boy asked if it could be arts and crafts time. “Sure, what do you want to do?” He responded, “can you teach me to knit?” Twist my arm. I ran upstairs to grab a pair of needles and some leftover yarn. I cast on for him and showed him how to make the knit stitch, while reciting the rhyme:

In through the front door,
run around the back,
peek through the window,
and off jumps jack

With minimal coaching, he was off and knitting. I watched him for a bit, but soon felt free to putter around elsewhere. Occasionally, I was summoned back to help with a problem, but for the most part he did very well. I could hear him from the kitchen, reciting the rhyme as he knit.

Before dinner, I found him sitting in the backyard with his knitting. “It’s such a nice day, I thought it would be nice to knit outside.”

IMG_6842

A boy after his mama’s heart.

