One of the highlights of my trip to Memphis was the chance to meet Melissa of Bridgman Pottery.  She is as sweet and easy to talk to as you would imagine from her virtual self.  I could easily have spent many more hours sitting and chatting, not to mention admiring her work.

img_5209

img_52081

I was excited to see her pottery in person and thrilled to visit her studio.  I am fascinated by how people work and what inspires them.  Melissa’s style, clearly influenced by the natural world, is clean and delicate.  Her affinity for birds only makes me love her work more.

img_5206

I hope my husband understands the large amount of restraint I practiced in making the small purchase that I did.  Seriously, I was pained to leave without “just a few more things”.  Like a honeypot, some ladybug mugs, a sea urchin vase, a cafe au lait bowl, an egg vase, etc.

I did come away with a few happies though:

img_5465
bamboo tumbler – in use

img_5478

bud vase (since she didn't have any egg vases to sell)

img_5476

berry bowl - the hard part is waiting for berry season!

What fun it is to make a virtual acquaintance into a real life friend!  Thanks, Melissa!

