Most of the time I am grateful for my kids being in a small school for the personal attention it allows, the low student-teacher ratio, etc.  This week, I am grateful for the fact that they only have to bring 11 Valentine cards each.  Much more than that I would surely go insane.

I didn’t give much thought or planning to the Valentine card making process.  This is both a blessing and a curse.  If I had planned and set up specific expectations, I am sure the stress would have been too much for all of us.  Instead, I cut some cardstock to size, tossed some supplies on the table and let them go at it.  Now, when the stress of results that don’t meet my standards gets too much for me, I just step out of the fray.

img_3884

In the end, the kids get to give out truly original Valentine cards and I get to practice letting go.

