Seems like the chaos of everyday life has suppressed any crafty impulse I might have had lately.

A disappointing result in my latest sewing project didn’t help. I was working on Butterick 5046 view A in a sewing class. We spent plenty of time altering the pattern to fit. At least, that was the thought. After all that work, the fit is significantly not right. I will eventually take it back to my teacher and cross my fingers that we can salvage it. I foresee much quality time with the seam ripper.

We’ve been making very good use of Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day. After the bread machine produced a particularly gnarly loaf, we started using the master recipe in a loaf pan for sandwich bread. This week we made pita. We’ve made it a few times and it is quick and satisfying. Exciting to see the flat round come out of the oven puffed up.

I also made up a batch of the “Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread Inspired by Chris Kimball”.  Whole wheat, white and rye flours with wheat germ and honey.  The smell of baking bread is always welcome, but this loaf smelled especially delicious.  The flavor lived up to the promising smell.

This weekend promises to be calmer than last.  Perhaps I will get in a little crafting.  Crafting and some cleaning.

