I’m still not entirely sure “vacation” is an appropriate descriptor for a trip involving 3 small children and 1 bedraggled mama, but why quibble? I will say that the visit to Memphis was a success.

  • We all survived airline travel and didn’t seem to make any lifelong enemies from fellow passengers.
  • The kids had a great time with Grandma, Grandpa, Aunty, Uncle and cousin.
  • I was able to enjoy three meals out with friends from high school, sans children, with only one “come relieve me of your screaming child” phone call.
  • And there was only one day that I seriously contemplated listing my children for sale on Craig’s List.
  • Despite days and days of rain, we were able to get out and see some beautiful signs of spring.

Our visit did remind me that there are things I really miss about Memphis:

  • the water – artesian well water, better than bottled
  • dogwood and cherry trees in bloom
  • seeing little girls in smocked dresses on an ordinary Tuesday
  • bbq!

It also reminded me of some of the things I don’t miss:

  • the politics
  • the crazy drivers
  • the fact that nobody walks anywhere

There’s little chance we will ever live in Memphis, but I am grateful that my children look forward to returning for a visit. The chance to spent time with Grandma and Grandpa is high on their list of fun and excitement and that means a lot to me.

Lest I forget, GO TIGERS! 🙂

