I bought this coat and hat for Sarah last winter, knowing that it would be almost a year before she could use it. Even hanging in the closet, it made me smile to see it. Imagine my glee when she wore it for the first time.  I think Sarah knows how cute she is in this ensemble, because this is the only hat that she will keep on her head!

1905275644_a1362ad2c2.jpg

It must have been the coat, but I’ve had cherry blossoms on the brain for the past couple of weeks. Initially, I was thinking of a garland – white and pink felt blossoms. As I played around, I decided it should be a mobile. I also had the idea of needle felting some pink roving onto the white blossom. Not bad for a prototype, eh?

2020163974_cf121f925a.jpg

Next time I think I will add more blossoms and some leaves. Maybe, play around with the balance to give it more motion.

Another project I’ve been experimenting with is baby leg warmers. I love Baby Legs and we own several pair. When I got the itch to go buy a couple more pair, it finally dawned on me that I could make some.   I didn’t really have a plan, I just started knitting. I was debating whether to just knit a tube or add some shaping. Sarah voted for shaping and so I did. So far, I’ve knit three pair. They have each been an experiment with different yarn and form. The first were knit in fingering weight from the top down. I decreased around the calf. I just k2t a few times over a couple rounds. The second pair were knit in worsted weight from the bottom up. This time I was a bit more thoughtful about the placement of the increases and I think they looked nicer.

2034807688_bbd48e6326-1.jpg

The most recent pair were a gift for a friend’s new baby. Knit in DK weight from the top down. I have a few changes planned for the next pair but I think I am narrowing in on an actual pattern of sorts. Then, I am going to try some different stitch patterns or maybe colorwork….

