Clearly, I have a strong affinity towards smocks. Sarah has more than her fair share of such tops. Most recently I made the “swing, swing smock” from Bend-the-Rules Sewing. I will definitely make this pattern again. The only problem I had was increasing the template from the book to the suggested size. It turns out that the increase I did make was the right size for Sarah now. I’ll need to get more copier-savvy when I want to make a larger size. There are a couple spots that turned out a little wonky, but I think I will live with them for now. Despite the wonky spots, it is pretty cute, no?

1369431812_d2f27548ed_m.jpg

 

A judicious use of my hedgehog twill tape from Superbuzzy. Hee hee. Are hedgehogs as cute in person as they are on Japanese fabric and trims?

1368530309_a30eb12357_m.jpg

When I showed Brad the smock, he said, “I think you have made enough smocks. You are ready to move on.” Enough smocks? Is there such a thing?

Just a couple weeks until Sarah turns 1. I have been trying to make a list of gift suggestions to pass along to family who ask. I am working hard to avoid the onslaught of plastic crap that usually accompanies gift-giving occasions. So far, I have been thinking:

-a Stokke Tripp Trapp

-a long-sleeve Zutano swing dress in this print

-a couple of pairs of wiggle pants from Hanna Andersson (the only pants that fit well over a big cloth diaper bum)

-and maybe a pair of two of new Baby Legs

What else does a one year old need? Maybe just one more smock…

 

 

