Joshua’s birthday, viruses, wedding anniversary, back-to-school, first day of kindergarten, garage sale, Rally Sunday. Just to name a few of the things going on in our household lately (or coming too soon).

Last Thursday, Joshua turned 5 years old. We celebrated with pancakes for breakfast and a trip to the fair. Nothing says, “Happy Birthday” like some deep-fried food on a stick.  Per Joshua’s request, we came home and had rice and tofu for dinner. No, it was not in response to the fair food, he just loves rice and tofu. Add some peas to his plate and you’ve got his all-time favorite meal. I never claimed the child was normal.

1289476357_5b9c4a3133_m.jpg

After the kids were asleep, I settled in for my own personal birthday tradition. I watched the video of Joshua’s birth. I never claimed I was normal either.

I also watched some video of Lizzie when she was around one year. I was a regular waterworks by then. I suffered the double-whammy of remembering those oh-so-long-ago moments and realizing that my baby is almost the same age.

1326639630_b2f655efcc_m.jpg

It won’t be pretty around here on September 24th. I should talk someone into taking me to Costco to stockpile tissues.

Tomorrow may be another tissue-fest. Joshua starts kindergarten. On the one hand, I might be doing cartwheels once he is on the bus for the sheer relief of not having to be primary caregiver to a very active, very “spirited” young boy for a few hours. On the other, it is a big milestone. What happened to my happy Buddha baby? How did he get to be 5 and going off to all-day kindergarten?  That’s worth a couple tissues (even if he is a stinker)!

No time to cry long.  I have a boatload to do at work and plenty of prep work for our garage sale on Saturday.  If I can just survive through Sunday afternoon, I have this as a carrot dangling in front of me:

1326640150_de522e0254_m1.jpg

Hand-delivered from Japan.  One of Brad’s co-workers just got back from a trip there (we are both a little jealous).  Before she left, he asked her if she could buy a craft book for me.  I didn’t want to overwhelm her with specific titles since she doesn’t speak or read Japanese, nor is she a Japanophile craft blogger.  I think Brad’s instructions were along the lines of “a book of sewing patterns for little girls with a European feel”.  I’m pretty pleased with the result.

