I’ve been working on this little linen smock.

470754723_42b9255459_m1.jpg

I want to embroider a little something on it, but have yet to decide what that will be. I was going for something akin to Alison‘s latest creations. Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, right? Nothing of mine will ever be so beautiful, but I am happy enough with this. My seam ripper has been an essential tool with this project.  I keep attaching the bias tape the wrong way.  I have some changes in mind for the next one including lengthening it, something different for the ties and taking a bit more care while applying the bias tape around the armholes and neck. Just another opportunity to play with my bias tape maker, what could be wrong with that?

I also made something for myself this weekend.

471668020_7b544e5c3a.jpg

The pattern (Simplicity 3807) is meant to be a dress, but I will be wearing it as a tunic over pants (at least for the foreseeable future, while I’m still nursing). I was hoping the empire waist would help disguise my post-pregnancy mid-section. I should have known better. It just makes me look like I’m still pregnant. I skipped putting in the ties that were called for on the back.  I might rip out a little and put those in with the hope that it will be less tent-like then.  Either way, I really like the fabrics (thanks to Abby‘s keen eye) and it is very comfortable, so I’ll be wearing it a lot regardless.

