Knit Night, originally uploaded by rouxhauser.

I found this photo after my grandmother passed away a few years ago. My grandma is the one of the far right. I never knew that she knit. Honestly, looking at this photo and the expressions on these women’s faces, this may have been their one and only attempt. Who knows. In addition to this photo, I found a little wooden box with knitting needles, a crochet hook, a couple of half-completed doilies and some yarn. I was just teaching myself to knit when I found these small treasures that connect me to a previously unknown piece of my grandmother’s past. Since then, I have happily used my grandmother’s needles and crochet hook while becoming a most enthusiastic knitter. I wonder if my grandchildren will someday find a similar picture of Knit Night with my good friends?

