When I read Amanda‘s post, I had tears in my eyes. She captured something so true about parenting and expressed it so beautifully. I thought, “she’s so right, it goes so quickly and time with them is so precious”.

Then I woke up. I woke up to Lizzie screaming. Screaming at my husband because she wanted a whole bagel, not half. 6:30 in the morning and I am faced with a whiny, screaming 6 year old who is hacked off because she wants a whole bagel upfront. She will have none of this, “you get half now and if you finish that you can have another half” business. Nope. “I WANT A WHOLE BAGEL!!!”

OK, whole bagel it is. I wasn’t the least bit annoyed when I walked back with my blessed cup of coffee to find this.

405236106_4b448882a4_m.jpg

Nope, not annoyed one bit.

Once the banshee was on the bus, I crawled back into bed to find this.

405236107_fad72f6f57_m.jpg

All better.

Finally finished my leaf lace shawl

405230511_1b9c2adc8a_m.jpg

and blocked it.

405236108_5dfe0dc740_m.jpg

Overall, I am very pleased with it. I can see several mistakes, but it was my first lace project of that size, so it is pretty exciting to have it completed and ready to wear. I interrupted pre-bed book time to show off my shawl and Joshua said, “Mommy, you look beautiful in that”.

Thanks, buddy.  I needed that.

