Just finished a pair of socks for my mom’s birthday present. I didn’t remember that she’d been wanting a pair until last week when she mentioned it to me again. She was commenting on the “cold” weather they were experiencing in Memphis. Meanwhile, here in Minnesota, I ventured out to the yarn shop in the subzero temps on Sunday after church and picked up some Dream in Color handpainted merino superwash wool in “In Vino Veritas”. This lovely worsted weight yarn made for a quick and enjoyable knit. The pattern is from Sensational Knitted Socks. Less than 72 hours for a pair of socks has got to be a personal best. It certainly helps that the recepient wears a size 6 1/2. If I mail them out tomorrow via priority mail, there’s a small chance my mom will have them on her birthday. She may even have a day or two left of the cold in which to appreciate them.

383376732_b47b419c95_m.jpg

The handknit goods are getting plenty of use around here these days. With daily highs struggling to reach 0 F, it has been an unfortunate week to be walking my son to his new school. Two blocks has never felt so far away! The other night I was listening to Brad read the kids a Little House book and I couldn’t stop thinking, “how did they survive this kind of cold?” Yikes.

