Two weeks ago, we went on our annual apple picking outing with friends. Unfortunately, we had an early blast of winter the night before and woke to a coating of snow. Not exactly your typical apple picking weather. Undeterred and with the promise of a discount on u-pick, we bundled up and picked a peck of frozen apples. Ok, it was more than a peck and the apples weren’t actually frozen. We did, however, have to brush snow off of some.

IMG_9028

Over the course of the next couple days, Brad went to town with the apple peeler/slicer/corer and cooked up a batch of apple butter. He canned 6 pints with a smidge leftover that went into the fridge our bellies.

Let me just insert that the apple peeler contraption is one of the single best thrift store finds I’ve gotten. Knocked a large amount of time off of the apple prep process. I’m not always a fan of the uni-tasker in the kitchen, but I’m willing to make an exception for this one. Technically it isn’t a UNI-tasker. It does three different things, right?

The next Friday, the kids were off for the statewide teacher conference and we met up with a couple other families for the day. What did we do, you ask? We went apple picking!

IMG_9155

IMG_9170

IMG_9158

We tried to encourage the kids to practice some restraint so we didn’t go home with another bushel or more. We did, of course, end up with PLENTY. I was a little bummed that my schedule had not allowed me to be much help in the apple butter making of the week before, so this was an opportunity to redeem myself.

IMG_9350

A couple of days ago, I spent the day in the kitchen and canned another 5 pints.

IMG_9354

More generous people than we would plan to give these as gifts. I’m making no promises -  we love us some apple butter. It is possible that we’ll loosen our grip and share. Stranger things have happened. On the other hand, despite our efforts, the apple basket is far from empty. I may see a third batch (and half pint jars) in my near future.

