It’s a good sound when you pour milk over Rice Krispies, not so good when you are sewing and the sounds are coming from the foot control. Those distinctively malevolent sounds indicating something electrical is not-quite-right. Eek.

I managed to finish the majority of this little number:

456744164_01cc3e7c3b_m1.jpg

456744170_c7aa6e31fd_m.jpg

I used a vintage pattern I found on a recent thrifting excursion. It is similar to the smocket, but calls for buttons. Those cursed buttons! I wasn’t willing to tempt fate and endure the snap, crackle, pop in order to do the buttonholes. I’ll need to wait until I can get the machine serviced and replace the foot control or go use a friend’s machine. Hmm, I’ll go with option b. This machine is no good for buttonholes anyway, so I will be better off using someone else’s. Matching pants will have to wait though. Too bad.

Currently, my sewing machine is living in the nursery. We have yet to make any moves toward getting the babe out of our bed, so we haven’t bothered to set up the crib. This leaves a rather convenient space for a sewing table, don’t ya know? It isn’t permanent, but it has made me realize how important it is to me to have the sewing machine set up and ready to go. I’m trying to think of another alternative but, as we are woefully short on space, finding a home for my sewing supplies is a sizable challenge. I am starting to understand why my mother was so quick to convert my childhood bedroom into her sewing room as soon as I left for college. Only 11 more years…

